What does my Comprehensive Car Insurance cover?

Included

We cover your car for loss or damage caused by a collision or crash, up to the agreed or market value as stated on your policy.

We cover your car for loss or damage caused by theft, vandalism or accidental damage, up to the agreed or market value as stated on your policy.

We'll arrange for an NRMA Partner Repairer to fix your vehicle. Our network of quality repairers will get you safely back on the road as soon as possible.

We cover your car for loss or damage caused by fire, storm or flood, up to the agreed or market value as stated on your policy.

If theft or attempted theft causes loss or damage to your car, this is included as standard for up to $75 per day (up to 21 days).

If a collision or crash causes loss or damage to your car, you're not at fault and you can provide the name and residential address of the at fault driver.

We cover up to $800 for emergency repairs that you arrange to make your car safe and secure.

We cover your car for loss or damage caused by an earthquake, explosion or tsunami, up to the agreed or market value as stated on your policy.

We cover the reasonable cost to tow your car from the incident to an authorised repairer or a safe place.

If your car is written off within the first two years from when it was registered, we’ll replace it with a new car of the same make, model, engine size, equipment level and paint type if it’s available in Australia.

If an incident we cover causes loss or damage to your car, and your personal items get damaged, we’ll pay up to $500 in total for certain items.

If an incident we cover causes loss or damage to your car, and your baby capsule or child seat gets damaged, we’ll pay up to $500 per item. This is paid on top of your agreed or market value.

If an incident we cover causes loss or damage to your car, and your tools of trade get damaged, we’ll pay up to $1,500. You must be registered for GST and have told us that you use your car for business purposes.

Options you can add

If you decide to take up the windscreen option, this will include damage to your car windscreen, sunroof or windows with no excess payable.

If you decide to take up the hire car option, this will include up to $75 a day (up to 14 days) until your car is repaired after an incident or your claim is settled.

If you decide to take up No Claim Bonus Protection, then your No Claim Bonus will be protected for the first at-fault claim you make in a policy year.

If you decide to take up the 'Any Repairer' option, you can choose your own repairer to fix your car.

This option applies to policies taken out from 24 September or with a renewal date from 6 November 2017.

Choose any of these options during the quote process.

 

For more protection, consider our premium cover.

Not included

There are specific limits, exclusions, and conditions that apply to some parts of your cover. For the full list of general exclusions, please refer to the Product Disclosure Statement (PDS)

This option is only available when choosing our premium cover, and covers the pickup and return of your car to your location when repairs are needed.

Roadside assistance can be purchased from the NRMA

Compulsory Third Party (CTP) Insurance covers people injured in a car accident, and can be purchased from our CTP Insurance page

Here are some more awesome benefits…

Loyalty Discount

Our Loyalty Discount rewards you for having multiple policies with us and for the length of time you keep them. The more policies you have, the more you may save!

Easy claims process

Claim in 3 easy steps:

  1. It'll take about 15 minutes to lodge your claim online
  2. We'll need to know a few details about the incident, such as where and when it happened
  3. You can choose a Partner Repairer and book an inspection time

Our web chat team can help with any questions you have through Self Service Centre

Convenience and flexibility

  • Choose your basic excess level to help reduce your premium
  • 24/7 helpline assistance for fast support
  • Submit an online claim any time, day or night
  • Select from over 500 authorised repairers
  • Last year 71% of our customers’ motor collision repairs took less than 7 days to complete
  • Rest easy knowing we have over 90 years insurance experience

Still have a few questions?
Try our FAQs

Need more info?

 

What to do if you’ve
been in an accident

 

Product Disclosure
Statement (PDS)

 

Premium, Excess and
Discounts (PED) Guide

 

Changes to the NSW
Emergency Services Levy

 

CAR COMPREHENSIVE COLLISION CLAIM NRMA is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 6697.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New Windscreen Staff were very helpful on phone. Work was completed quickly and effectively
Date published: 2016-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quick service No hassles. Just fixed my window, as good as new. Highly recommended insurance company.
Date published: 2016-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from everything was awesome, even better than expected a really simple and quick process...easy to lodge the claim, great service at the initial contact with the repairer, i didn't have to wait more than 2 weeks to put the car in to be fixed and then it inly took 4 days to repair which was exactly what was quoted....great staff too!
Date published: 2016-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'ST CLASS Helped me every step of the way, great service from all nrma employees
Date published: 2016-11-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from My friends thought I was joking Throughout my experience my claims and repairs experience my friends thought I was joking. I was told that the repairs for my car would be around $3000 however, it took over five months to have my car returned to me. All of this time, I only heard from NRMA twice and that is when I started to jump up and down. Every time I spoke to a friend and I told them about my car they would laugh that the repairs could take so long.
Date published: 2016-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent sevice My car claim was processed online, approved and paid out within days of incident.
Date published: 2016-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellcent Service, Quick Payment After the accident NRMA organised towing for my wife. The claims process was hassle free. Money in my account within a day of the vehicle being declared a total loss.
Date published: 2016-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent service It would as so easy to lodge my claim over the phone. The repairs were completed quickly and with no fuss. Perfect!
Date published: 2016-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service Took bit longer time to do repair on my car but it's come in really nice condition.
Date published: 2016-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Prompt and polite service by all Staff 1.Assessor contacted us quickly, stating that the car was written off and inquiring whether we needed anything out of the car. as we were unable to retrieve anything at the time of the accident, with the car being upside down.. Very helpful! 2. We had to hire a car for 14 days and our claim money was paid in that time, car bought and hire car returned.
Date published: 2016-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy My repairs were easy to register through the online dashboard and I was then able to nominate my own smash repair. My car was assessed quickly and my claim was much easier than I thought it would be.
Date published: 2016-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent service Phone Consultant very helpful and car was fixed quickly and the process was easy
Date published: 2016-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service and fast. My repairs were completed very quickly. Thank you.
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Couldn't be better I needed my windscreen replaced and it was done quickly and efficiently. They told me it would be ready within 3 hours and it was ready in 2.5.
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb communications and outstanding service. Very impressed with the consistency and quality of service. Many thanks to Kelly for her superlative customer interaction skills and for guiding us so well throughout the process. Thanks also to David for subsequent follow-up. It has been a pleasure to do business with RACT.
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good service and excellent repair I was unlucky to have some Hail damage, which the NRMA organised a specialist repair to address. A minimum of fuss and and excellent result
Date published: 2016-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Service. My claim settled perfectly for me. Motor vehicle was a write off and NRMA settled within a day. fantastic experience.
Date published: 2016-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service Everything was processed really quick. Great communication and very helpful :)
Date published: 2016-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Repairs to damaged body of car. Overall very happy with the claim process although the online claim form instead of saying vehicle was moving when damaged, it said vehicle was stationary when damaged. Received a call from NRMA the next day after lodging claim to clarify whether vehicle was stationary or moving. Making a booking with the recommended smash repairer was pretty easy to do online. On the selected day took the vehicle in for inspection. Inspection process was pretty quick. The process of what would happen once I booked in my vehicle for repairs was thoroughly explained. On the day I took my vehicle for repairs, I was told the expected pick up date, explained about how the car hire process worked, transport was arranged to the car hire place in Fyshwick with an explanation of what I needed to do when I return the car to Fyshwick and how to get back to Phillip on the pickup day. On pickup day dropped off the hired car, go a taxi back to Phillip to pick my vehicle. My vehicle was ready for me once I got to Phillip. After checking if all the repairs were done, I did notice that the repairers had not replaced a damaged chrome fitting around the fog lamp. Spoke to the repairers and they organized right away to get a new chrome fitting. Had to wait 2 weeks after pickup before they had replaced the damaged chrome fitting. Disappointed that the repairers had not noticed that the chrome fitting was damaged. Communication from the repairers was excellent, they kept me informed on the progress of getting the new chrome fitting. Overall very happy with service provided by NRMA and Autoco, the repairers.
Date published: 2016-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service The decision to write off the car and process the claim quickly enabled me to purchase another car within the fortnight I had the hire car as part of my policy was excellent service. I have nothing but praise for all the NRMA and their recomended crash repairers. That is why my wife and I have had our cars and home/contents insured with NRMA for about 30 years.
Date published: 2016-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hassle free process The claim was lodged over the phone with a very helpful and patient consultant. Repairs were completed speedily at a repairer very close to home. Very happy.
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We received very good service with our claim We were able to get our repairs done by our smash repairer.
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from quick and easy My experience with my NRMA claim was a really positive one. My vehicle, unfortunately, was written off. The process was really quick, great communication and payment was very fair and prompt.
Date published: 2016-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I received excellent customer service. However my repairer said the assessor was extremely rude. I should not have to apologise for this conduct although I thought it necessary.
Date published: 2016-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Problem Free Excellent repairs and customer service form both the NRMA and Silverwater Smash.
Date published: 2016-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Theft of motor vehicle We were very impressed with the swiftness of our claim once the assessor advised us of the outcome. Were impressed from our first contact with N..R.M.A.
Date published: 2016-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent service, taxi transport all went smoothly
Date published: 2016-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast & furious I had to get my windscreen changed as it was cracked. It was done in no time and zero effort. Thank you NRMA team.
Date published: 2016-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Car smash repair Great repairer. Job was excellent. Business and staff were excellent.
Date published: 2016-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thorough customer service Helpful on issue of insurance, CTP slips and roadside assistance for 4 vehicles insured with NRMA
Date published: 2016-06-29
  • y_2018, m_1, d_21, h_10
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2690, tr_4007
  • loc_en_AU, sid_NRMA_CLAIM_CRCP_COLL, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_FEEDBACK, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_nrma
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.1.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 260ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT