What does my Comprehensive Car Insurance cover?

Included

We cover your car for loss or damage caused by a collision or crash, up to the agreed or market value as stated on your policy.

We cover your car for loss or damage caused by theft, vandalism or accidental damage, up to the agreed or market value as stated on your policy.

We'll arrange for an NRMA Partner Repairer to fix your vehicle. Our network of quality repairers will get you safely back on the road as soon as possible.

We cover your car for loss or damage caused by fire, storm or flood, up to the agreed or market value as stated on your policy.

If theft or attempted theft causes loss or damage to your car, this is included as standard for up to $75 per day (up to 21 days).

If a collision or crash causes loss or damage to your car, you're not at fault and you can provide the name and residential address of the at fault driver.

We cover up to $800 for emergency repairs that you arrange to make your car safe and secure.

We cover your car for loss or damage caused by an earthquake, explosion or tsunami, up to the agreed or market value as stated on your policy.

We cover the reasonable cost to tow your car from the incident to an authorised repairer or a safe place.

If your car is written off within the first two years from when it was registered, we’ll replace it with a new car of the same make, model, engine size, equipment level and paint type if it’s available in Australia.

If an incident we cover causes loss or damage to your car, and your personal items get damaged, we’ll pay up to $500 in total for certain items.

If an incident we cover causes loss or damage to your car, and your baby capsule or child seat gets damaged, we’ll pay up to $500 per item. This is paid on top of your agreed or market value.

If an incident we cover causes loss or damage to your car, and your tools of trade get damaged, we’ll pay up to $1,500. You must be registered for GST and have told us that you use your car for business purposes.

Options you can add

If you decide to take up the windscreen option, this will include damage to your car windscreen, sunroof or windows with no excess payable.

If you decide to take up the hire car option, this will include up to $75 a day (up to 14 days) until your car is repaired after an incident or your claim is settled.

If you decide to take up No Claim Bonus Protection, then your No Claim Bonus will be protected for the first at-fault claim you make in a policy year.

If you decide to take up the 'Any Repairer' option, you can choose your own repairer to fix your car.

This option applies to policies taken out from 24 September or with a renewal date from 6 November 2017.

Choose any of these options during the quote process.

 

For more protection, consider our premium cover.

Not included

There are specific limits, exclusions, and conditions that apply to some parts of your cover. For the full list of general exclusions, please refer to the Product Disclosure Statement (PDS)

This option is only available when choosing our premium cover, and covers the pickup and return of your car to your location when repairs are needed.

Roadside assistance can be purchased from the NRMA

Compulsory Third Party (CTP) Insurance covers people injured in a car accident, and can be purchased from our CTP Insurance page

Here are some more awesome benefits…

Loyalty Discount

Our Loyalty Discount rewards you for having multiple policies with us and for the length of time you keep them. The more policies you have, the more you may save!

Easy claims process

Claim in 3 easy steps:

  1. It'll take about 15 minutes to lodge your claim online
  2. We'll need to know a few details about the incident, such as where and when it happened
  3. You can choose a Partner Repairer and book an inspection time

Our web chat team can help with any questions you have through Self Service Centre

Convenience and flexibility

  • Choose your basic excess level to help reduce your premium
  • 24/7 helpline assistance for fast support
  • Submit an online claim any time, day or night
  • Select from over 500 authorised repairers
  • Last year 71% of our customers’ motor collision repairs took less than 7 days to complete
  • Rest easy knowing we have over 90 years insurance experience

Still have a few questions?
Try our FAQs

Need more info?

 

What to do if you’ve
been in an accident

 

Product Disclosure
Statement (PDS)

 

Premium, Excess and
Discounts (PED) Guide

 

Changes to the NSW
Emergency Services Levy

 

CAR COMPREHENSIVE COLLISION CLAIM NRMA is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 9722.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent service, taxi transport all went smoothly
Date published: 2016-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast & furious I had to get my windscreen changed as it was cracked. It was done in no time and zero effort. Thank you NRMA team.
Date published: 2016-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Car smash repair Great repairer. Job was excellent. Business and staff were excellent.
Date published: 2016-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thorough customer service Helpful on issue of insurance, CTP slips and roadside assistance for 4 vehicles insured with NRMA
Date published: 2016-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service by Armidale windscreens Armidale windscreens were great to deal with your middle man was really slow to forward the job onto Armidale winscreens
Date published: 2016-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy as! After a quick and easy phone call to lodge my claim with NRMA, I received a phone call from the windscreen repairer approx. 30mins afterwards. The repair was booked in for the following afternoon and the guy was lovely and really helpful. He came to us and it was all done and dusted in 25mins. I was given a lifetime guarantee from the repairer and no excess was needed due to my policy. The experience was efficient and effective. I was very happy with my experience.
Date published: 2016-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant service Novus Coffs Harbour were absolutely brilliant!!!!!
Date published: 2016-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service My repairs were completed ahead of schedule. Standard of workmanship met my high expectations. .
Date published: 2016-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic service NRMA were amazing to deal with and also Stuarts smash Repair in Brendale were absolutely fantastic. I cannnot recommend either business enough. They made a bad situation of having a car accident into a positive experience. I highly recommend them.
Date published: 2016-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Windscreen repair was carried out at time and date of my choice
Date published: 2016-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service Repairs completed as required.... Used repairer of choice.
Date published: 2016-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service. Our claim was dealt with very quickly. We had a direct number to speak to a real person and our claim was paid out with in two weeks so we could purchase a new vehicle. Very happy with the communication and service we received. We re insured with NRMA.
Date published: 2016-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very considerate to an aged person Work completed in a very competent and professional manner with a courteous and helpful receptionist ,
Date published: 2016-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT SERVICE Thankyou for the compassion I experienced when dealing with NRMA after my son was involved in an accident where the car was 'written off'. Although he was not injured in the accident, he has since been hospitalised for mental health issues and I had to take over dealing with the incident and the car. Every person in the conversation was friendly and empathetic-from the assessor through to the last claims person. I could recommend NRMA to anyone. Despite your size, you are still treating people as individuals. Thankyou
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service - cannot fault Ok - this isn't the first time I have dealt with NRMA and I have to say each time they where right there to help me. Insurance premiums cheaper and personal contact FAR superior than any other insurance company we have dealt with. I'm only sorry I haven't any photos to show.
Date published: 2016-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT SERVICE VERY PROFESSIONAL AND VERY EFFICIENT PICKED UP THE CAR AND WITHIN DAYS HEARD THE CAR WAS BEING REPAIRED
Date published: 2016-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good service My repair were completed efficiency. Everybody was pleasant a d friendly
Date published: 2016-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service!!! Thank you NRMA. Great communication, assistance, assigned specialist, wonderful service. As a result, I have my transferred my other insurance needs to NRMA also.
Date published: 2016-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service It was done quickly and easily! The job looked great
Date published: 2016-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great service very impressed with nrma and repairer. Only wish the company who have at last finished the building were half as good .
Date published: 2016-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Service After being allocated an appointment time for the replacement of my windscreen I received a message to advise just what time to expect the repairman and he arrived right on time and carried out the work promptly.
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable. Courteous. Efficient, I have no concerns regarding my insurance. I am very happy with NRMA's customer interface.
Date published: 2016-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truely great customer service experience. The claim was managed fully without my intervention.
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from curtious polite and helpful i had to do nothing but make a phone call and all was taken care of. Once the assessment was made it took less than a week to settle
Date published: 2016-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome service I rang and the person on the phone helped me straight away provided me with a claim number and I was contacted by the windscreen repairer within the hour to make a time to replace. It was booked in for the next morning which I thought was efficient service.
Date published: 2016-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service as always Had my windscreen replaced, covered by optional extra - glass and windscreen insurance. All of the approximately 4 NRMA staff I've dealt with have been very informative and helpful, which has resulted in a wonderfully memorable experience. The man who replaced the windscreen was in and out within about 45 minutes, if not less! Thanks NRMA! There's a reason I pay you each month to look after me, and you've exceeded my expectations.
Date published: 2016-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous support Very helpful and quick responses. Cannot fault their service
Date published: 2016-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No hassles - just no issues at all. Repairs completed to satisfaction within time promised and to quality with which I am happy
Date published: 2016-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cracked windscreen I didn't even know if I was covered for a windscreen. I went to the local NRMA branch, came out 10 minutes later with the claim made. 45 minutes later the windscreen repairer rang me and arranged to send someone to my home the next day. Job done! Brilliant!
Date published: 2016-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Service My repairs were completed within 5 days with a hired car without any extra costs
Date published: 2016-02-01
  • y_2018, m_10, d_17, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4655, tr_5067
  • loc_en_AU, sid_NRMA_CLAIM_CRCP_COLL, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_FEEDBACK, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_nrma
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.1.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 18.31ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT