Veteran, Vintage & Classic Vehicle Insurance

If you own a car that's more than 15 years old and use it for:

  • Hobby or recreational purposes and is driven up to 9,000 kilometres per year, or
  • Special occasion/wedding hire,

Read the information below about our Veteran, Vintage and Classic Vehicle Insurance.

Whether your pride and joy is a veteran (pre-1919), vintage (made between 1919 and 1930) or classic (15 years or older) vehicle, we can provide cover for its agreed value against accidental damage, theft, fire, storm, flood and more.

What's covered?

We'll cover your veteran, vintage or classic vehicle for loss or damage if an incident we cover happens during the policy period. We'll also cover you for Liability up to $20 million.

In addition, you'll receive the following benefits and additional features (excludes stationary engines):

  • Emergency repairs
  • Keys, locks and barrels
  • Personal items
  • Storage costs
  • Temporary cover
  • Towing
  • Trailer or caravan damage
  • Windscreen, sunroof and window glass damage
  • Recovery against another party
  • Traveller Care
  • Helpline benefits

Please read our Veteran, Vintage and Classic Vehicle Insurance policy booklet for more details.

Veteran, Vintage and Classic Vehicle Insurance claims

Making a Veteran, Vintage and Classic Vehicle Insurance claim is quick and easy with NRMA Insurance.

Simply call 1800 634 686 and we'll take care of everything for you. We even offer a lifetime guarantee on repairs we authorise for extra peace of mind.

How do I make a veteran, vintage and classic vehicle insurance claim?

Simply call NRMA Insurance on 1800 634 686 with the following details:

  • Your registration number
  • Your NRMA Veteran, Vintage and Classic Vehicle Insurance policy number
  • The driver's details (if someone else was driving your vehicle)
  • The other driver's details (if applicable)
  • A Police Incident Report number (if applicable)

What happens next?

If we accept your claim, then:

  • You'll be provided with a claim number and advised if an excess is payable
  • A quote then needs to be obtained for the repairs. An NRMA Insurance Claims Assessor can assist you in locating a suitable repairer or you can obtain a quote from a repairer of your choice
  • Once you have a quote, it needs to be forwarded to the NRMA Insurance Claims Department, along with any photos of the damage
  • Our Claims Assessors determine how your claim will be settled and if an inspection is required
  • NRMA Insurance will also arrange for your vehicle to be towed if required

Important documents

Download the Product Disclosure Statement (PDS) and policy booklet

Download the Premium Excess and Discount Guide (PED)

Call 1800 646 605

Renew online

Why choose NRMA Insurance?

  • Help if your vehicle breaks down more than 100km from home within Australia
  • Choice of repairer
  • With the Loyalty Discount, the more eligible policies you have and the longer you stay with us, the more you can save
  • Cover for the agreed value of your vehicle
  • Option to keep your damaged vehicle if it is over 35 years of age at no cost
  • Lifetime guarantee on repairs we authorise
  • 24/7 Helpline assistance
  • Experience – we’ve been insuring Australians for over 90 years
Ten classic or vintage cars to buy right now

Ten classic or vintage cars to buy right now
The top collector cars on the market. Read our tips on the Hub

Calling all car enthusiasts

Calling all car enthusiasts
The top classic and vintage car meets and rallies around Australia. Find out where on The Hub

Making your classic car safer to drive

Making your classic car safer to drive
Seven mechanical fixes. Learn more on The Hub

CAR COMPREHENSIVE COLLISION CLAIM NRMA is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 9722.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'ST CLASS Helped me every step of the way, great service from all nrma employees
Date published: 2016-11-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from My friends thought I was joking Throughout my experience my claims and repairs experience my friends thought I was joking. I was told that the repairs for my car would be around $3000 however, it took over five months to have my car returned to me. All of this time, I only heard from NRMA twice and that is when I started to jump up and down. Every time I spoke to a friend and I told them about my car they would laugh that the repairs could take so long.
Date published: 2016-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent sevice My car claim was processed online, approved and paid out within days of incident.
Date published: 2016-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellcent Service, Quick Payment After the accident NRMA organised towing for my wife. The claims process was hassle free. Money in my account within a day of the vehicle being declared a total loss.
Date published: 2016-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent service It would as so easy to lodge my claim over the phone. The repairs were completed quickly and with no fuss. Perfect!
Date published: 2016-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service Took bit longer time to do repair on my car but it's come in really nice condition.
Date published: 2016-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Prompt and polite service by all Staff 1.Assessor contacted us quickly, stating that the car was written off and inquiring whether we needed anything out of the car. as we were unable to retrieve anything at the time of the accident, with the car being upside down.. Very helpful! 2. We had to hire a car for 14 days and our claim money was paid in that time, car bought and hire car returned.
Date published: 2016-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy My repairs were easy to register through the online dashboard and I was then able to nominate my own smash repair. My car was assessed quickly and my claim was much easier than I thought it would be.
Date published: 2016-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent service Phone Consultant very helpful and car was fixed quickly and the process was easy
Date published: 2016-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service and fast. My repairs were completed very quickly. Thank you.
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Couldn't be better I needed my windscreen replaced and it was done quickly and efficiently. They told me it would be ready within 3 hours and it was ready in 2.5.
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from quick and easy My experience with my NRMA claim was a really positive one. My vehicle, unfortunately, was written off. The process was really quick, great communication and payment was very fair and prompt.
Date published: 2016-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent service - very helpful My repairs, were dealt with quickly, and they worked around my schedule.
Date published: 2016-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and most of all Reliable My car needed to be repaired and when i made the initial claim to picking up the car. everyone from the phone consultant to the repairer were fantastic.
Date published: 2016-02-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very disappointed I am very disqusted in the nrma service as I have been with the nrma for a very long time including 2 cars insured with the nrma. After my car is fixed I will be insuring with someone else and leaving nrma thanks
Date published: 2017-08-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Conflicting information Different consultants have different information, majority of the car claim was rejected. very disappointed
Date published: 2017-03-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from hail damage in the country It seems that living in a country area and claiming for hail damage is not an easy claim for NRMA. After many phone calls it seems all hail damage claims have to be assessed and repaired by selected repairers who live a long way away. We were told to drive three hours for an assessment and then once the damage was assessed the car would be taken away for an extended period. The inconvenience and poor communication that followed continued for 10 months and in utter frustration we took a cash payment to go find our own repairer. The cash payment will not cover the damage which has been worsened by the time waiting for repair. Be warned if you live in a rural or coastal town hail damage is not an easy claim.
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Service was excellent from everyone I couldn't fault the service. Adams smash repairs were so helpful and supportive, the hirecare company was great and the lady I spoke to in regard to my claim at NRMA was efficient, knowledgeable and caring. Thank you!
Date published: 2017-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful help and Service The decsion tio write the vehicle off and the prompt payment of the claim were fantastic
Date published: 2016-12-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very helpful and understanding I was devastated to have my car stolen... A hire car was set up quickly and it was no trouble to organise a large enough vehicle for my family... When I received the phone call from the police telling me that my car had been found and was completely destroyed I was overwhelmed... The lovely NRMA claims rep that I spoke to was very understanding and explained the procedure to me in a simple way that I could understand in my emotional state... The money was in my account very quickly and I was able to purchase another car within a few days.
Date published: 2016-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New Windscreen Staff were very helpful on phone. Work was completed quickly and effectively
Date published: 2016-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb communications and outstanding service. Very impressed with the consistency and quality of service. Many thanks to Kelly for her superlative customer interaction skills and for guiding us so well throughout the process. Thanks also to David for subsequent follow-up. It has been a pleasure to do business with RACT.
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good service and excellent repair I was unlucky to have some Hail damage, which the NRMA organised a specialist repair to address. A minimum of fuss and and excellent result
Date published: 2016-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Service. My claim settled perfectly for me. Motor vehicle was a write off and NRMA settled within a day. fantastic experience.
Date published: 2016-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Repairs to damaged body of car. Overall very happy with the claim process although the online claim form instead of saying vehicle was moving when damaged, it said vehicle was stationary when damaged. Received a call from NRMA the next day after lodging claim to clarify whether vehicle was stationary or moving. Making a booking with the recommended smash repairer was pretty easy to do online. On the selected day took the vehicle in for inspection. Inspection process was pretty quick. The process of what would happen once I booked in my vehicle for repairs was thoroughly explained. On the day I took my vehicle for repairs, I was told the expected pick up date, explained about how the car hire process worked, transport was arranged to the car hire place in Fyshwick with an explanation of what I needed to do when I return the car to Fyshwick and how to get back to Phillip on the pickup day. On pickup day dropped off the hired car, go a taxi back to Phillip to pick my vehicle. My vehicle was ready for me once I got to Phillip. After checking if all the repairs were done, I did notice that the repairers had not replaced a damaged chrome fitting around the fog lamp. Spoke to the repairers and they organized right away to get a new chrome fitting. Had to wait 2 weeks after pickup before they had replaced the damaged chrome fitting. Disappointed that the repairers had not noticed that the chrome fitting was damaged. Communication from the repairers was excellent, they kept me informed on the progress of getting the new chrome fitting. Overall very happy with service provided by NRMA and Autoco, the repairers.
Date published: 2016-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service The decision to write off the car and process the claim quickly enabled me to purchase another car within the fortnight I had the hire car as part of my policy was excellent service. I have nothing but praise for all the NRMA and their recomended crash repairers. That is why my wife and I have had our cars and home/contents insured with NRMA for about 30 years.
Date published: 2016-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We received very good service with our claim We were able to get our repairs done by our smash repairer.
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I received excellent customer service. However my repairer said the assessor was extremely rude. I should not have to apologise for this conduct although I thought it necessary.
Date published: 2016-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Problem Free Excellent repairs and customer service form both the NRMA and Silverwater Smash.
Date published: 2016-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Theft of motor vehicle We were very impressed with the swiftness of our claim once the assessor advised us of the outcome. Were impressed from our first contact with N..R.M.A.
Date published: 2016-07-04
  • y_2018, m_10, d_17, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4655, tr_5067
  • loc_en_AU, sid_NRMA_CLAIM_CRCP_COLL, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_FEEDBACK, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_nrma
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.1.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 36.15ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT