What does my Comprehensive Car Insurance cover?

Included

We cover your car for loss or damage caused by a collision or crash, up to the agreed or market value as stated on your policy.

We cover your car for loss or damage caused by theft, vandalism or accidental damage, up to the agreed or market value as stated on your policy.

We'll arrange for an NRMA Partner Repairer to fix your vehicle. Our network of quality repairers will get you safely back on the road as soon as possible.

We cover your car for loss or damage caused by fire, storm or flood, up to the agreed or market value as stated on your policy.

If theft or attempted theft causes loss or damage to your car, this is included as standard for up to $75 per day (up to 21 days).

If a collision or crash causes loss or damage to your car, you're not at fault and you can provide the name and residential address of the at fault driver.

We cover up to $800 for emergency repairs that you arrange to make your car safe and secure.

We cover your car for loss or damage caused by an earthquake, explosion or tsunami, up to the agreed or market value as stated on your policy.

We cover the reasonable cost to tow your car from the incident to an authorised repairer or a safe place.

If your car is written off within the first two years from when it was registered, we’ll replace it with a new car of the same make, model, engine size, equipment level and paint type if it’s available in Australia.

If an incident we cover causes loss or damage to your car, and your personal items get damaged, we’ll pay up to $500 in total for certain items.

If an incident we cover causes loss or damage to your car, and your baby capsule or child seat gets damaged, we’ll pay up to $500 per item. This is paid on top of your agreed or market value.

If an incident we cover causes loss or damage to your car, and your tools of trade get damaged, we’ll pay up to $1,500. You must be registered for GST and have told us that you use your car for business purposes.

Options you can add

If you decide to take up the windscreen option, this will include damage to your car windscreen, sunroof or windows with no excess payable.

If you decide to take up the hire car option, this will include up to $75 a day (up to 14 days) until your car is repaired after an incident or your claim is settled.

If you decide to take up No Claim Bonus Protection, then your No Claim Bonus will be protected for the first at-fault claim you make in a policy year.

If you decide to take up the 'Any Repairer' option, you can choose your own repairer to fix your car.

This option applies to policies taken out from 24 September or with a renewal date from 6 November 2017.

Choose any of these options during the quote process.

 

For more protection, consider our premium cover.

Not included

There are specific limits, exclusions, and conditions that apply to some parts of your cover. For the full list of general exclusions, please refer to the Product Disclosure Statement (PDS)

This option is only available when choosing our premium cover, and covers the pickup and return of your car to your location when repairs are needed.

Roadside assistance can be purchased from the NRMA

Compulsory Third Party (CTP) Insurance covers people injured in a car accident, and can be purchased from our CTP Insurance page

Here are some more awesome benefits…

Loyalty Discount

Our Loyalty Discount rewards you for having multiple policies with us and for the length of time you keep them. The more policies you have, the more you may save!

Easy claims process

Claim in 3 easy steps:

  1. It'll take about 15 minutes to lodge your claim online
  2. We'll need to know a few details about the incident, such as where and when it happened
  3. You can choose a Partner Repairer and book an inspection time

Our web chat team can help with any questions you have through Self Service Centre

Convenience and flexibility

  • Choose your basic excess level to help reduce your premium
  • 24/7 helpline assistance for fast support
  • Submit an online claim any time, day or night
  • Select from over 500 authorised repairers
  • Last year 71% of our customers’ motor collision repairs took less than 7 days to complete
  • Rest easy knowing we have over 90 years insurance experience

Still have a few questions?
Try our FAQs

Need more info?

 

What to do if you’ve
been in an accident

 

Product Disclosure
Statement (PDS)

 

Premium, Excess and
Discounts (PED) Guide

 

Changes to the NSW
Emergency Services Levy

 

CAR COMPREHENSIVE COLLISION CLAIM NRMA is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 6697.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from NRMA hellloooo Someone has dropped the ball!! My assessor fixed my panels and then made me wait 5 n still waitingto approve a $200 muffler as he said" i should have written it off but didnt..now i cant justify another $200" whaaaaat? Needles to say id rather have car to get to work with scratches then shiny car and not be able to get to work.
Date published: 2016-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Service I was amazed at just how easy the whole process was and was kept informed along the way as to the process of my claim
Date published: 2016-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy to claim The repairs done were very good and done in about 9 days
Date published: 2016-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Speedy service From a phone call to seek advice regards chip wind screen, job completed in five hours. That is what you call service. NRMA & O'Brien well done.
Date published: 2016-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very good Car glass repair organised over night - Back on the road next day - Very efficient !
Date published: 2016-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Service from NRMA Insurance and Repairer Called NRMA and claim was quickly processed and Repairer notified Windscreen was replaced within 2 days
Date published: 2016-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Courtesy. Great service. Granting "go ahead" to carry out the repair job was quick.
Date published: 2016-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent claim handling time The processing of my claim was so quick within four days of the accident my cash settlement was being deposited into my account
Date published: 2016-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very good service very satisfied with my repairs and my refund was promptly processed and received
Date published: 2016-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service I am very happy with my repairs.They did an excellent job.
Date published: 2016-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from impressed I had a windscreen replaced ages ago, told NRMA it was happening but did not actually submit the claim. A nice young person from the company rang me to remind me that I hadn't claimed. Some companies might have preferred me to forget it, but not NRMA!
Date published: 2016-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GOOD SERVICE From the time of our first phone call after our accident , to the tow truck arriving to take our ute to the panel beaters , to collecting our repaired ute , was completed quickly considering the accident happened on the eve of the Easter Weekend. My wife and I are very happy with the service from NRMA.
Date published: 2016-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Over the phone was great service, The men at the panel shop were fantastic , great service, wash the car, looked great when I picked it up .
Date published: 2016-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Windscreen Replacement - Fast Service When it became apparent that the first choice for windscreen replacement was not available, it was replaced by O'Brien Glass the same day. Very happy with service and result.
Date published: 2016-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent service As per quoted time excellent work pleasant employees.
Date published: 2016-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceptional Quality of Service Within one week of having my car written off, I had my insurance money in my bank, and was driving my new car
Date published: 2016-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very great service Done so good and on time and done in know time at all
Date published: 2016-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from They made it easy My repairs were completed professionally and on time.
Date published: 2016-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent service - very helpful My repairs, were dealt with quickly, and they worked around my schedule.
Date published: 2016-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent service and follow up Repairs were completed to a high standard and with great courtesy
Date published: 2016-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very prompt action The repairs were completed quickly and the vehicle was immaculate when I picked it up
Date published: 2016-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service Windscreen replacement of cracked window on our bt50
Date published: 2016-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and most of all Reliable My car needed to be repaired and when i made the initial claim to picking up the car. everyone from the phone consultant to the repairer were fantastic.
Date published: 2016-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NRMA Claims were very caring and professional and made the whole experience easier in trying times. Thanks NRMA!
Date published: 2016-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent claims customer service My car was hit by another and after contacting NRMA and giving them the other drivers details - everything was followed up quickly and with ease. They booked my car in for repairs at a reputable local repairer and even organised a taxi to and from repairer which was a great help.
Date published: 2015-11-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Service was great once car was actually in for rep Happy with work carried out, not happy with the assessors assumptions, yes I hit a Kangaroo and at the time the damage was assessed but 2 weeks late the drivers mirror falls off where the kangaroo fell after the collision, he declined that the mirror would be replaced in this claim, HOW CAN HE SAY THAT THE KANGAROO DID NOT CAUSE A FRACTURE AND THE MIRROR TO FALL OFF, mirrors don't just fall off without a reason. My wife and I have been insured with NRMA for over 35 years and only ever made one claim, between our private cars and business we have 7 vehicles insured with NRMA and find his ignorance and people skills poor.
Date published: 2015-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Service was excellent from everyone I couldn't fault the service. Adams smash repairs were so helpful and supportive, the hirecare company was great and the lady I spoke to in regard to my claim at NRMA was efficient, knowledgeable and caring. Thank you!
Date published: 2017-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful help and Service The decsion tio write the vehicle off and the prompt payment of the claim were fantastic
Date published: 2016-12-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very helpful and understanding I was devastated to have my car stolen... A hire car was set up quickly and it was no trouble to organise a large enough vehicle for my family... When I received the phone call from the police telling me that my car had been found and was completely destroyed I was overwhelmed... The lovely NRMA claims rep that I spoke to was very understanding and explained the procedure to me in a simple way that I could understand in my emotional state... The money was in my account very quickly and I was able to purchase another car within a few days.
Date published: 2016-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always excellent service! Peace of mind and happy motoring. I had been a member for over 8 years with no claims and held multiple policies with NRMA. Unfortunately I had to make two claims in the past 12 months; NRMA’s customer service was nothing short of excellent, the online claims process is easy and transparent. The workmanship of the chosen smash repair was fast and to a high standard, my vehicle looks and drives like new. The two claims did not affect my 65% “Life-time no claim bonus”. I would recommend NRMA to friends and family.
Date published: 2016-12-12
  • y_2018, m_1, d_21, h_10
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2690, tr_4007
  • loc_en_AU, sid_NRMA_CLAIM_CRCP_COLL, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_FEEDBACK, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_nrma
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.1.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 17.29ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT